First things first

Once in awhile, an idea just sleets down from the universe and ∴bam∴—you’re on a whole new path.  That’s what happened to me with this quilt, my first.  A line from John Masefield’s poem “Sea-Fever” had been going through my mind for awhile.  The poem is perhaps best recognized for one of its first lines:

And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by

But what I kept hearing was:

And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

Isn’t that a lovely way to come to rest at the end of a day?

And suddenly, I saw it—a field of tossing waves, with the text floating over it like the print from a book.

I had to make it real.  And so, suddenly, I became a quilter.  Is it strange to start out this way, with a specific idea, rather than by a progression through different learned skills?  All ignorance and bliss?  Fools rush in, eh.  But we’ll see what happens.

After a bit of reworking and math, I printed out my letters using a typeface that matched as closely as possible the edition of the book I have.

firstletters

I started tracing them onto the thinnest double-sided iron-on interfacing I could find, and I was off to the races.  Or rather, traces.

Just as a side note, I really love that poem by Masefield.  But he also wrote a lot of sentimental Victorian epics that are difficult to appreciate now.  There’s a great comment on his Wikipedia bio that he’s often compared to Chaucer, usually unfavorably.  Ouch!

One thought on “First things first

Leave a Reply

