Quilt for Nepal

Front made for a charity quilt

The good people at eQuilter in Boulder, Colorado, are conducting a quilt drive for people in Nepal who have been displaced by the recent earthquakes.

Anne of SpringLeaf Studios discovered the quilt drive and shared the news with our guild.  Since she offered to bind a quilt or two, and Cynthia offered to do the actual quilting, the least I could do was put together a top and back.

Back of quilt for Nepal
Quilt back.

I wanted to make something that would come together quickly, so that I could get it to Cynthia as soon as possible.  But I also wanted something that would indicate care and some thought for design.

I settled on a fabulous African wax print I picked up at the fabric market in Walthamstow during a visit to London last year.  The print is meant to become one garment and comes in 6-yard units, so I had a good swath of it.  Once I had that as a centerpiece, I raided my stash for some solids and a stripe that would highlight the wax print and comprise a softer back.  I pieced them together in horizontal widths separated by 1- and 2.5-inch stripes.  A few seams, and the usual endless course of pressing later, they were ready to go out the door.

If you have a smaller (twin or lap) sized quilt ready for donation, consider sending it along to eQuilter.  They will get it to Nepal and into the hands of someone who really needs it.

2 thoughts on “Quilt for Nepal

Leave a Reply

