Green Flash: A finished quilt

Green Flash: A finished quilt

 

This quilt incorporates the fabric that has been in my stash the longest: a length of blue-green shot silk I bought at a Gunne Sax outlet in the late 1980s.  Remember Gunne Sax?  I don’t miss the leg o’mutton sleeves and lace overlays I loved in my teenage years, but I still think this fabric as gorgeous as I ever did.  The quilt is designed as a dark frame around the bright flashes of silk.

Detail of Green Flash quiltSilk is often considered an art fabric, but I want all my quilts to be useful, usable objects as well as creative works.  That means they have to be washable if life happens to them, so I prewash.  Somewhat tentatively, I slipped the silk into a mesh bag and sent it through the washer and dryer on warm gentle cycles.  It held up like a champ.  I’m confident the quilt can survive many years of use.

The construction of the quilt was fairly straightforward improv.  I strung together columns of flying geese, inset the round moon shape into a large square of background fabric, then stuck them all up on a design wall to find rhythm and balance.  The composition seems a bit unbalanced on the wall, but on a bed it looks right.

The background fabric is a crisp, lightweight linen-cotton chambray from Fancy Tiger, my spirit home.  Back and binding are Overachiever by Anna Marie Horner for Free Spirit fabrics.  The print looks smashing in a large swath or tiny bits, and I can’t recommend it enough.

I started this quilt well over a year ago, but didn’t really take it on until this fall.  Nice to have a WIP all finished up.  Next up: something in a smaller format…

4 thoughts on “Green Flash: A finished quilt

  1. Hi there! I saw your post about the quilt on Facebook and followed the link over here. I LOVE this gorgeous quilt so much! I’m another one who loves using up every last bit of things, repairing, and upcycling. I’m very happy to have found your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

